SAASINSPECTOR

Capacity Review

As an AI support agent, Capacity pulls answers from your website, help center and Google Drive to support customers by email, chat, voice, SMS, WhatsApp, Slack and Teams. There's no free plan, and it bundles a shared inbox and help center in for contact centers.

Research-based review. Features and prices are checked on the vendor's own website, and the score is worked out from those facts. We haven't tested it hands-on yet.

The verdict

Worth it for contact centers that want ticketing, a help center and automation in one place rather than stitched together; there's no free plan to test the fit first.

Pros

  • Capacity offers an all-in-one consolidation platform that replaces separate chatbot, QA, helpdesk, and knowledge base tools in a single contact center solution.
  • The AI Knowledge Orchestration Layer trains the AI once and distributes that knowledge automatically across voice, chat, SMS, email, and web channels.
  • Capacity runs its own proprietary AI model rather than relying on third-party LLMs, which may offer differentiated capabilities for contact center use cases.
  • The platform claims significant scale with 20,000 customer organizations and 1.5 million users, suggesting enterprise-grade reliability and deployment experience.
  • An AI Agent Builder allows teams to train the bot on their own internal data, enabling customized automation tailored to specific business needs.
  • The platform covers both inbound and outbound use cases including campaigns, live agent support, and automated quality assurance in one unified environment.
  • Ticket automation and helpdesk functionality are included in the Core plan, lowering the barrier to entry for mid-market teams looking to automate support workflows.

Cons

  • Capacity has virtually no presence on major review platforms like G2 or Capterra, making independent third-party validation of its claims nearly impossible.
  • The email AI agent uses per-response usage pricing rather than a flat rate, which could lead to unpredictable costs at scale.
  • Live chat and shared inbox features are locked behind Pro and higher plans, limiting functionality for teams on lower tiers.
  • The proprietary AI model lacks publicly verifiable benchmarks, and without a recognized LLM partnership, model quality is difficult to assess from the outside.
  • Marketing figures such as '36.3 billion automated interactions' cannot be independently verified, raising questions about the reliability of their headline claims.
  • The review trail is extremely thin for a platform claiming its scale, which makes it difficult for buyers to find genuine peer reviews before committing.
Free plan NoFree trial No
6.9/10

Spec Score

Capacity against 8 AI support agents
#3
of 8 AI support agents
+0.3
vs the average
76%
from published facts
Ahead of other AI support agents
Running a support team+4.3Integrations+1.3Security and privacy+0.7Channels+0.5
Behind other AI support agents
Support and branding-2.6AI that answers your customers-0.8
Every criterion
Tap a row for the facts
AI that answers your customers6.8
-0.8 vs 7.6 avg17 of 25 points
What the AI learns fromwebsitehelp_centerGoogle Drive2 / 3
AI included in the pricenot published, half points1.3 / 2.5
AI helps your human agentsyes2.5 / 2.5
Languages the AI answers in30 languages1 / 2
Why these numbers

What the AI learns from: The AI Knowledge Orchestration Layer also indexes 'your website ... or a native knowledge base' (https://capacity.com/ai-agents/ FAQ), and SharePoint/Salesforce/ServiceNow, which are outside the schema's listed source types so not added here.

Languages the AI answers in: Count is for Voice AI Agent voices only; no language count found for the chat, email or SMS agents.

Pricing5.5
-0.3 vs 5.8 avg11 of 20 points
Monthly price, cheapest paid plannot published, typical value used4 / 6
Price per resolution or conversationdoes not applyn/a
Price per minute of callsdoes not applyn/a
Free planno0 / 2.5
Free trialnot published, typical value used1.5 / 1.5
Why these numbers

Free plan: Rechecked 2026-09-13. Pricing page lists only Core, Pro and Enterprise, all paid annual subscriptions with no published price and no free tier; homepage has no free-plan mention either.

Channels8.0
+0.5 vs 7.5 avg12 of 15 points
Channels it works inemaillive chatvoiceSMSWhatsAppSlackTeams8 / 10
Why these numbers

Channels it works in: live_chat from the pricing page Pro plan ('Live chat and inbox') and the website chat agent. WhatsApp comes from the WhatsApp Marketing Campaigns product (outbound campaigns; same page: 'AI agent handling on reply.'), not a listed inbound AI agent channel.

Security and privacy7.5
+0.7 vs 6.8 avg11.3 of 15 points
SOC 2yes2 / 2
HIPAAyes2 / 2
ISO 27001no0 / 1.5
Single sign-onyes1.5 / 1.5
Audit logyes1 / 1
Choice of data regionnot published, typical value used0.5 / 1
Does not train AI on your datanot published, half points0.5 / 1
Why these numbers

SOC 2: Pricing page footer also lists 'SOC 2 Type II', 'HIPAA', 'GDPR', 'CCPA' under 'Certified and Compliant'.

HIPAA: Pricing page Enterprise plan: 'HIPAA package available'. Sitemap also lists a Capacity BAA page (https://capacity.com/capacity-baa/, not read).

ISO 27001: The security page's Regulatory Compliance section names exactly three certifications (repeated in its FAQ as 'GDPR, HIPAA, and SOC 2'). The Dev Platform page's own security list (Role Based Access Controls, Cascading Permissions, SSO, SOC II, HIPAA, API) also omits ISO 27001.

Single sign-on: Plan availability not stated.

Audit log: Listed under the security page's access and accountability controls, alongside 24/7 threat monitoring. Plan availability is not stated.

Running a support team7.5
+4.3 vs 3.2 avg7.5 of 10 points
Shared inbox or ticketsyes3 / 3
Help centeryes2.5 / 2.5
SLA policiesno0 / 2.5
Automation rulesyes2 / 2
Why these numbers

Shared inbox or tickets: Listed as a product under 'Reduce Handle Time' in the site navigation; the Core plan in the existing plans fact includes 'Helpdesk and automations', and the ai-chat-agent FAQ describes escalating to 'Capacity's native helpdesk'.

Help center: Listed as a product under 'Reduce Handle Time' in the site navigation; the existing plans fact lists 'Knowledge base' on the Core tier, and the ai-agents FAQ mentions grounding answers in 'a native knowledge base'.

SLA policies: No SLA management or SLA-policy feature is named on the pricing plan table or any product page checked, unlike Kustomer/Kapture which explicitly list 'SLA Management'.

Automation rules: Listed under 'Automate Processes' in the site navigation; the Enterprise plan in the existing plans fact includes 'Advanced workflows', and Core includes 'Helpdesk and automations'.

Integrations10.0
+1.3 vs 8.8 avg10 of 10 points
Connects to Zendesk, Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify and othersSalesforceHubSpotZendeskSlackShopifyZapierFreshdesk10 / 10
Why these numbers

Connects to Zendesk, Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify and others: Evidence 1-2 from the security page; 3-5 are item names in the integrations directory (Shopify and Freshdesk tagged API, Zapier tagged Calendar). Salesforce, Slack, Hubspot and Zendesk are also directory items. Intercom and Gorgias not found.

Support and branding1.2
-2.6 vs 3.8 avg0.6 of 5 points
Ways to reach supportemail1.3 / 5
Remove the vendor's brandingno0 / 5
Why these numbers

Ways to reach support: Email is the only channel Capacity publishes for itself.

Remove the vendor's branding: No plan removes Capacity's own branding. The chat agent FAQ mentions running up to 100 agents 'each with its own branding', which is about applying the CUSTOMER's branding to an agent, not removing Capacity's.

yesnonot published average for AI support agents
How the Spec Score works

Scored from what Capacity publishes on its own site. Not a hands-on test.

Compared with 8 AI support agents. Facts checked 13 Sep 2026.

A fact the vendor does not publish gets half the points, or the typical value for a number, and says so. It never counts as a no. How we score.

Capacity is AI customer service software for mid-market and enterprise contact centres, covering AI agents, agent assist and integrations.

Capacity homepage screenshot
Capacity, Homepage

We pulled apart Capacity's vendor documentation, cross-referenced it with whatever user feedback we could surface, and ran into an immediate problem: this tool barely exists on G2 or Capterra. No rating. Almost no review trail. For a platform claiming 20,000 customer organizations and 1.5 million users, that's a strange gap. This Capacity review is built from what we could find, which means their own docs, public case study language, and the handful of third-party mentions floating around. Keep that in mind as you read.

Capacity was founded in 2017, headquartered in St. Louis, and has spent years positioning itself as the one platform that replaces a stack of point solutions in the contact center. Big claim. The 36.3 billion automated interactions figure on their homepage is the kind of number that either means something or gets quietly updated every quarter. We genuinely don't know which.

What is Capacity?

An AI customer support platform aimed at mid-market and enterprise contact centers. The core pitch is consolidation: one place for AI agents, live agent support, outbound campaigns, and automated quality assurance. No separate chatbot vendor. No separate QA tool.

The thing they seem most proud of is what they call the AI Knowledge Orchestration Layer. The idea is you train the AI once, and that knowledge flows across every channel and workflow automatically, voice, chat, SMS, email, web. It's a sensible architectural decision, assuming it works as described. We couldn't verify that from the outside, and that's our honest limitation here.

On the model side, Capacity combines internally hosted and in-house AI components with external models such as GPT-4. Their private model option is based on Llama 3.1. That's a more complicated picture than most vendors present, and honestly, it raises as many questions as it answers about where the actual AI quality comes from on any given interaction.

Capacity Features: Chatbot, Helpdesk & Support Automation Breakdown

Capacity features screenshot
Capacity, Features

The feature list is long. The AI agent handles inbound inquiries across voice and chat. There's an email AI agent too, though that one uses per-response usage pricing, which we'll get to. Helpdesk and ticket automation come in Core. Live chat and a shared inbox land in Pro and above.

The AI Agent Builder lets teams train the bot on their own data through indexing, which is confirmed in the Core plan. That's table stakes now across most serious competitors, but Capacity's "train once, use everywhere" framing suggests they've built it more centrally than most. Intercom, for comparison, requires more per-channel setup work.

Agent Assist is the real-time guidance layer for human agents, confirmed in Pro tier. It includes sentiment analysis and live suggestions during active conversations. The handover from bot to human is part of the same system, not a third-party integration bolted on. That matters. We've seen plenty of platforms where the handover is technically present but operationally janky. Whether Capacity's version holds up in practice, we genuinely can't say.

Outbound campaigns are included at Enterprise. Automated QA is another piece. Both are unusual to find bundled at this level rather than sold separately. Fair.

Capacity Bot Quality: How Well Does It Handle Real Customer Queries?

This is where our research hits a wall. No G2 reviews. No Capterra reviews. No Trustpilot presence. Not normal for a seven-year-old platform with their claimed user numbers.

What we did find: their documentation emphasizes context-aware responses across channels, and the Knowledge Orchestration Layer is supposed to keep answers consistent wherever the conversation happens. That's the theory. The absence of third-party validation makes it impossible for us to say how well the bot actually handles edge cases or ambiguous queries in the wild.

We're skeptical. Not because the claim sounds implausible, but because we can't find anyone outside the company saying it's true. That's a due-diligence gap buyers should fill before signing anything.

Capacity Channel Coverage: Which Platforms Does It Support?

Coverage is genuinely broad. Voice, web chat, SMS, and email are all confirmed, plus web widgets. On the integration side, Salesforce and ServiceNow cover the CRM layer. Microsoft Teams and Slack handle internal comms, and a few others fill out the telephony side, including RingCentral and AWS Connect.

Shopify isn't listed, which means e-commerce teams should look elsewhere. Gorgias is the obvious alternative for that use case. Capacity is clearly built for internal-facing and enterprise contact center work, not consumer retail support.

Multilingual support is not publicly detailed. That's a meaningful gap for any team supporting non-English-speaking customers. English-first is fine for many buyers, but it needs confirming directly with their sales team before you commit. We'd want that in writing.

Is Capacity Easy to Set Up and Manage?

This section is where our research runs thinnest. No user accounts of onboarding. No Reddit threads about implementation. Nothing from community forums, because there isn't one.

What we can infer: the platform's breadth suggests complexity. Voice AI, helpdesk, outbound campaigns, QA automation, and a custom knowledge layer are not things that snap together in a weekend. The developer platform lands in Pro tier and above, which implies real technical setup is expected at that level. Core gets 100GB storage. Pro bumps that to 1TB, and Enterprise goes to 2TB. Those are meaningful infrastructure differences, not cosmetic tier distinctions.

Their homepage mentions AI agents that "continuously improve with each interaction." That kind of self-improving claim is common marketing language, and we've seen it mean everything from actual reinforcement learning to someone manually reviewing flagged tickets every month. We don't know which it is here. Worth asking directly.

No free trial means you're going into a demo-first sales process. Standard for enterprise software, but it means there's no way to poke around the interface before committing to a conversation with a salesperson. Not great.

Capacity Pricing: Is It Worth It for Support Teams?

Capacity pricing screenshot
Capacity, Pricing

Three tiers: Core, Pro, and Enterprise. No prices publicly listed for any of them. Not even a starting range.

That's a problem. Not unusual at enterprise level, but it means every buyer is flying blind until they're already in a sales conversation. The email AI agent uses per-response pricing on top of whatever the base plan costs. That's an additional variable that could make cost forecasting genuinely difficult for high-volume teams.

Campaigns and CRM are locked to Enterprise. The developer platform starts at Pro. Live chat and the shared inbox, also Pro and above. Buyers who want anything close to the full platform will almost certainly land on Pro at minimum, and quite possibly Enterprise. At undisclosed prices, that's a real commitment to make on faith.

No free plan. No trial. No public refund policy. We don't love that combination. It shifts all the pricing risk to the buyer.

Capacity vs Intercom: Which Customer Service AI Wins?

Intercom is the obvious comparison. Both target mid-market and enterprise, both include AI agents and live chat, and both claim to reduce support costs at scale.

Intercom publishes its pricing. Capacity doesn't. That alone changes the evaluation process significantly. Intercom's Fin AI agent is well-documented in the wild, with real user feedback about resolution rates. You can read our breakdown of Fin if you want a direct comparison. Capacity has nothing equivalent publicly available.

Where Capacity theoretically pulls ahead: the breadth. Outbound campaigns, automated QA, voice AI, and a unified knowledge layer in one platform is more than Intercom offers out of the box. Capacity's all-in-one positioning makes the most sense for teams currently paying for separate QA software and campaign tools alongside their support platform. That's a real consolidation argument. Whether the individual modules match best-in-class standalone tools, we can't confirm.

Intercom also has a much larger public review base. That matters during evaluation. Capacity's lack of verifiable user reviews is the most uncomfortable part of recommending it to anyone.

Who Should Use Capacity? (And Who Shouldn't)

Enterprise contact centers managing complex stacks. Teams juggling four or five vendors across voice, email, chat, and QA review are the ones most likely to benefit from consolidation here. That's the real fit.

Small businesses. Not the fit. No free tier, no trial, likely five-figure annual contracts, and a sales-led process. The overhead doesn't make sense below a certain team size.

E-commerce brands on Shopify. Look elsewhere. The integrations aren't there, and Capacity's architecture is built for a different kind of support operation entirely.

Non-English-speaking markets. Get clarity from sales first. The multilingual gap is real, and the documentation doesn't address it.

Capacity Review Verdict

Genuine ambition here. The unified knowledge layer, the bundled QA, the voice-plus-chat-plus-email coverage, it's a meaningful platform for the right buyer. We're not dismissing it.

But the review trail problem is serious. Seven years old, 20,000 claimed customers, and almost nothing on the major review platforms. That gap either means their customers are locked in enterprise contracts with NDAs, or the product hasn't built the kind of loyalty that prompts people to write reviews. We can't tell which. That opacity is the single biggest thing holding Capacity back from a stronger recommendation.

The pricing invisibility compounds it. No trial, no published rates, no refund policy. Buyers who want transparency before they commit will find this frustrating. That's a fair frustration.

What we'd want before recommending it without reservation: published pricing, real user reviews from outside the company, and clarity on multilingual support. Until those gaps close, Capacity is worth evaluating seriously if your needs match, but not worth signing off on without significant due diligence.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Capacity offer a free trial?

No free trial and no free plan. You'll need to go through their demo process to see the platform. That's a meaningful time investment before you know if the product fits your needs, so come to that conversation with specific requirements written down.

What integrations does Capacity support?

The confirmed list covers Salesforce and ServiceNow on the CRM side, plus Slack and Microsoft Teams for internal comms. RingCentral and a few others fill out the telephony layer. Shopify isn't on the list. API access is available on Pro tier and above for custom connections.

How does Capacity compare to other AI customer service platforms?

The main differentiation is breadth: voice AI, helpdesk, outbound campaigns, QA automation, and a unified knowledge layer in one product. Most competitors require separate tools for at least some of those functions. The catch is that Capacity's individual modules can't be independently benchmarked against best-in-class standalone tools, because there's almost no public user feedback to compare against.

Alternatives to Capacity

See all Capacity alternatives →

Other AI Customer Service Tool options we've reviewed.

Fin logo

Fin

Mid-market and enterprise businesses seeking an AI agent to automate customer service across multiple channels and helpdesks

8.5
Rank #1 of 8 AI support agents
Best:Channels10
Weakest:Pricing6
Ticketing: yesHelp center: yesSLA policies: yesISO 27001: yes
From $0.99No free plan
100% from published facts · checked 13 Sep
Intercom logo

Intercom

Customer support teams ranging from startups to large enterprises

8.2
Rank #3 of 16 helpdesks
Best:Channels10
Weakest:Pricing5.5
Ticketing: yesHelp center: yesSLA policies: yesISO 27001: yes
From $39No free plan
100% from published facts · checked 13 Sep
Gorgias logo

Gorgias

E-commerce brands scaling customer support

7.6
Rank #7 of 16 helpdesks
Best:Running a support team10
Weakest:Support and branding3.8
Ticketing: yesHelp center: yesSLA policies: yes
From $10No free plan
98% from published facts · checked 13 Sep
Zendesk logo

Zendesk

Teams needing AI-powered customer support and ticketing

8.4
Rank #2 of 16 helpdesks
Best:Channels10
Weakest:Pricing6.5
Ticketing: yesHelp center: yesSLA policies: yesISO 27001: yes
From $25No free plan
100% from published facts · checked 13 Sep
Freshworks logo

Freshworks

IT teams

7.8
Rank #5 of 16 helpdesks
Best:Running a support team10
Weakest:Support and branding6.2
Ticketing: yesHelp center: yesSLA policies: yesISO 27001: yes
From $23No free plan
89% from published facts · checked 13 Sep
Front logo

Front

Startups, enterprises, and omnichannel support teams

7.6
Rank #7 of 16 helpdesks
Best:Running a support team10
Weakest:Pricing5.5
Ticketing: yesHelp center: yesSLA policies: yesISO 27001: yes
From $35No free plan
100% from published facts · checked 13 Sep

User reviews

Review Capacity

Your rating

Reviews are moderated and appear once approved.